Supporting young researchers

A major aim of BMBF funding is to support next-generation researchers in their career paths. Many funding formats are therefore aimed at young researchers. The format of junior research groups was developed specifically in order to enable especially qualified post-docs and doctoral candidates to conduct self-chosen research and thereby gain further qualifications.

Junior research groups "Europe from the outside"
At the heart of the funding announcement "Europe from the outside" (2009) is the aim to further expand the internationalisation of the humanities in Germany and support the qualification of young researchers in an interdisciplinary research context. In 2009, an international review board recommended seven projects to the BMBF for the four-year funding programme. The junior research groups began their work in 2010.

The projects funded through the programme

    • Provide contributions on how external perception of Europe has developed historically and recently, and reconstruct the varying influences to which Europe is subject in its dealings with non-European countries;
    • Examine what “external” and “internal” mean from a European point of view and what developments these delineations and constructs undergo;
    • Enable especially gifted young academics with research and teaching experience to acquire further academic qualifications in order to recommend themselves for tasks in science and research and top positions in academia and industry;
    • Develop and maintain innovative research approaches and interdisciplinary scientific work;
    • Integrate visiting research fellows from abroad and establish national and international networks.

eHumanities junior research groups
Based on the "Call for proposals for guidelines to promote research and development projects in the eHumanities" published in January 2013, several new junior research groups will receive funding from 2014. The aim of this funding measure is to support the expansion of institutional and personnel capacities in the eHumanities at universities and non-university research institutions in Germany. It comprises two funding lines:

  • Funding for junior research groups;
  • Funding for eHumanities centres at German universities and non-university research institutions.

This funding measure for junior research projects offers next-generation researchers the opportunity to become further qualified for the field of eHumanities through a research project.

More on funding for the eHumanities



"Europa von außen gesehen"     Bekanntmachung vom     


  • Projects (in German)

    [PDF - 10.6 kB]

    01.04.2010 - 28.02.2015 (URL:

Contact Persons

Dr. Claudia Hauser
+49 228 3821-1842
+49 228 3821-1500

Dr. Gaia di Luzio
+49 228 3821-1996
+49 228 3821-1500

Den wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs unterstützen

Ein wesentliches Ziel der BMBF-Förderung besteht darin, den wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs auf seinem Karriereweg zu unterstützen. Daher richten sich viele Förderformate auch an Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen und -wissenschaftler. Das Format der Nachwuchsgruppen wurde speziell entwickelt, um besonders qualifizierten Postdoktoranden und Doktoranden selbstbestimmte Forschung und mit ihr die Qualifikation zu ermöglichen. 

Nachwuchsgruppen „Europa von außen gesehen“
Im Mittelpunkt der Bekanntmachung „Europa von außen gesehen“ (2009) steht das Ziel, die Internationalisierung der Geisteswissenschaften in Deutschland weiter auszubauen und die Qualifizierung des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses in einem interdisziplinären Forschungskontext zu unterstützen. Ein internationales Begutachtungsgremium hat dem BMBF 2009 sieben Projekte für die vierjährige Förderung empfohlen. Die Nachwuchsgruppen haben ihre Arbeit 2010 aufgenommen.

Die Förderprojekte

  • liefern Beiträge dazu, wie sich Europa in der Außenwahrnehmung historisch und aktuell entwickelt hat, und rekonstruieren die wechselhafte Beeinflussung Europas in der Auseinandersetzung mit nichteuropäischen Ländern;
  • fragen, was aus europäischer Sicht „außen“ und „innen“ bedeuten und welchen Entwicklungen diese Grenzziehungen und -konstruktionen unterliegen;
  • ermöglichen besonders befähigten jungen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern mit Erfahrungen in Forschung und Lehre, sich wissenschaftlich weiterzuqualifizieren, um sich für Aufgaben in Forschung und Wissenschaft und für Spitzenstellungen in Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft zu empfehlen;
  • entwickeln und pflegen innovative Forschungszugänge und interdisziplinäres wissenschaftliches Arbeiten;
  • beziehen ausländische Gastforschende (Fellows) ein und etablieren nationale und internationale Netzwerke.


Nachwuchsgruppen eHumanities
Auf Basis der „Bekanntmachung von Richtlinien zur Förderung von Forschungs- und Entwicklungsvorhaben aus dem Bereich der eHumanities“ vom Januar 2013 werden ab 2013 mehrere neue Nachwuchsgruppen gefördert. Die Fördermaßnahme hat zum Ziel, den Ausbau institutioneller und personeller Kapazitäten in den eHumanities an Hochschulen und außeruniversitären Forschungseinrichtungen in Deutschland zu unterstützen. Sie umfasst zwei Förderlinien:

  • Förderung von Nachwuchsgruppen,
  • Förderung von eHumanities-Zentren an deutschen Hochschulen und außeruniversitären Forschungseinrichtungen.

Die Förderung dieser Nachwuchsprojekte ermöglicht Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen und  -wissenschaftlern, sich im Rahmen eines Forschungsprojektes für den Bereich der eHumanities weiterzuqualifizieren.

Mehr zur Förderung der eHumanities  

Bekanntmachung

"Europa von außen gesehen"     Bekanntmachung vom     
     25.03.2009

Dokumente

  • Projekte

    [PDF - 10,6 kB]

    01.04.2010 - 28.02.2015 (URL: http://www.pt-dlr-gsk.de/_media/Projektliste_UE_Europa_von_aussen.pdf)

Ansprechpartner

Dr. Claudia Hauser

0228 3821-1842
0228 3821-1500
E-Mail

Dr. Gaia di Luzio

0228 3821-1996
0228 3821-1500
E-Mail