Advancing area studies

Germany needs more substantiated knowledge about other regions of the world. Due to globalisation and migration movements, knowledge of other countries and cultures has become a key qualification in international competition. The aim of the funding priority “Strengthening and advancing area studies” is to better pool, develop and test the intercultural competence that exists in the field of area studies. At the same time, it is designed to advance subject-specific and interdisciplinary issues and promote collaboration with the systematic disciplines in order to establish networked, interdisciplinary locations of expertise in Germany that can serve as drivers of this humanities-based field of knowledge, not least by closely collaborating with researchers from other countries. It furthermore intensifies cooperation between area studies, which are traditionally strongly philology-oriented in Germany, and the systematic disciplines such as history, political science or religious science.

Funding is provided for innovative research concepts which are implemented in two funding lines:

a) inter-university competence networks,
b) university-internal structuralisation and networking.

The Federal Ministry of Education and Research has been funding seven competence networks and three university-internal centres since 2009/2010; six further university-internal centres were added in 2012/2013 with the second round of the call for proposals. These networks and centres examine global interrelationships and cultural, political, economic and religious exchange processes such as China’s economic activities in Africa or the rivalry between the major powers over influence in the Arab region. The projects are invited to develop innovative methods and new theoretical approaches. The results of this research in the humanities and social sciences are of interest in business, politics and culture.

Area studies are part of the Federal Government’s strategy to internationalise science and research. With this initiative the BMBF has implemented recommendations on area studies made by the German Council of Science and Humanities in 2006.


 


 

Bekanntmachungen

Documents

Ansprechpartner

Dr. Rolf Geserick

+49 228 3821-1599+49 228 3821-1500Email

 

Dr. Stephanie Becker
+49 228 3821-1557+49 228 3821-1500Email

Die Regionalstudien weiterentwickeln

Deutschland benötigt mehr fundiertes Wissen über andere Regionen der Welt. Durch Globalisierung und Wanderungsbewegungen werden Kenntnisse über andere Länder und Kulturen zu einer Schlüsselqualifikation im internationalen Wettbewerb. Ziel des Förderschwerpunktes „Stärkung und Weiterentwicklung der Regionalstudien (area studies)“ ist es, die in den Regionalstudien vorhandene Fernkompetenz durch neue Formen der Kooperation stärker zu bündeln, weiterzuentwickeln und zu erproben. Gleichzeitig sollen fachspezifische und interdisziplinäre Fragestellungen und die Zusammenarbeit mit den systematischen Disziplinen vorangetrieben werden. So entstehen vernetzte, interdisziplinäre Orte der Expertise in Deutschland, die nicht zuletzt durch enge Zusammenarbeit mit ausländischen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern ein Movens in diesem geisteswissenschaftlichen Wissensfeld bilden. Die Zusammenarbeit der in Deutschland traditionell stark philologisch ausgerichteten Regionalstudien mit den systematischen Disziplinen wie Geschichts-, Politik- oder Religionswissenschaft wird intensiviert.

Gefördert werden innovative Forschungskonzepte, die in zwei Förderlinien umgesetzt werden:

a) universitätsübergreifende Kompetenznetze,
b) inneruniversitäre Strukturbildung und Vernetzung.

Das Bundesforschungsministerium fördert seit 2009/2010 sieben Kompetenznetze und drei inneruniversitäre Zentren. Mit der zweiten Runde der Bekanntmachung sind 2012/2013 sechs weitere inneruniversitäre Zentren hinzugekommen. Sie untersuchen globale Verflechtungen sowie kulturelle, politische, wirtschaftliche und religiöse Austauschprozesse. Dazu zählen beispielsweise das wirtschaftliche Engagement Chinas in Afrika oder die Rivalität der Großmächte um Einfluss im arabischen Raum. Die Projekte sind aufgefordert, innovative Methoden und neue theoretische Ansätze zu entwickeln. Die Ergebnisse dieser geistes- und sozialwissenschaftlichen Forschungen sind interessant für Wirtschaft, Politik und Kultur.

Die Regionalstudien sind Teil der Strategie der Bundesregierung zur Internationalisierung von Wissenschaft und Forschung. Das BMBF hat mit dieser Initiative die Empfehlungen des Wissenschaftsrats zu den Regionalstudien aus dem Jahr 2006 umgesetzt.

Bekanntmachungen

Dokumente

Ansprechpartner

Dr. Rolf Geserick
0228 3821-1599 0228 3821-1500 E-Mail
 
Dr. Stephanie Becker
0228 3821-1557 0228 3821-1500 E-Mail